ChatGPT Enterprise Review: Pricing, Admin Controls, and Data Governance for Company-Wide AI
ChatGPT Enterprise is the top tier of OpenAI's workplace plans, sold above ChatGPT Business to companies that want the same assistant, custom GPTs and connected apps with a heavier admin layer. The extras are mostly control features: SCIM provisioning, role-based access, IP allowlisting, a Compliance API, data residency in ten regions and a longer context window for chat. OpenAI says it does not train on business data by default, on Business or Enterprise.
For a people ops or IT lead, the practical question in 2026 is whether those controls justify a quoted contract when ChatGPT Business costs $20 per seat billed annually. I look at what Enterprise adds over Business, how the apps for Google Drive, SharePoint, Slack and GitHub behave under admin permissions, what buyers report paying, and which organizations need the upgrade at all.
The verdict
ChatGPT Enterprise is OpenAI's option for companies that want generative AI under central governance, and it is priced for scale: buyer reports put it at roughly $45 to $75 per user per month on an annual contract, often with a 150-seat minimum, so it suits organizations ready for a broad rollout rather than a small pilot.
The upgrade over Business is concentrated in identity, logging and data location. SCIM keeps seats in sync with your directory, custom roles decide which groups get agent mode, Codex or specific app actions, and the Compliance API gives legal and security teams a record of conversations and app calls to archive or scan.
OpenAI publishes no Enterprise rate, so every number you see, including the $45 to $75 range above, comes from buyer reports and third parties. Contracts are annual and invoiced, terms are negotiated, and there is no self-serve trial of the Enterprise tier. Teams that want to test first usually start on ChatGPT Business and upgrade later.
I would pick Enterprise when directory-driven provisioning, audit logs or in-region data storage are requirements from security or legal. If SAML SSO and no training on your data are enough, ChatGPT Business covers that at a published price.
Where ChatGPT Enterprise fits
Who it suits
ChatGPT Enterprise is best for companies of a few hundred seats or more that need ChatGPT under the same identity, logging and data-location rules as the rest of their SaaS stack.
Regulated teams gain the most: SCIM deprovisioning when someone leaves, Compliance API exports into archiving or DLP tools, and data stored in one of ten regions including the EU, UK and Japan.
A 40-person HR consultancy that mainly needs private chats, custom GPTs and a Google Drive connection is better served by ChatGPT Business at $20 a seat. The Enterprise contract makes sense once audit, provisioning or residency requirements are written into policy.
What it does differently
ChatGPT Enterprise takes the assistant many employees already use on personal accounts and wraps it in the admin controls security teams expect from any enterprise SaaS contract.
Company knowledge lets ChatGPT answer from connected apps such as Google Drive, SharePoint, Slack and GitHub while respecting each user's existing permissions, and Enterprise admins can set per-group rules that make an app read-only or allow only certain actions.
An analytics dashboard reports active users, message volume and seat counts, and the Compliance API records conversations, GPTs and app calls for export. For HR and legal teams asked to show how AI is used, that record matters more than model quality.
Backed by OpenAI and delivered through the cloud across Web, iOS, and Android, the product adds a longer chat context window, 24/7 priority support and SLAs on top of the Business feature set.
How it gets bought
Commercially, ChatGPT Enterprise is the upgrade path from Business rather than a separate product. The assistant, custom GPTs and connected apps are shared across both; the Enterprise contract buys identity automation, logging, data location and a named account team.
Because pricing is a custom quote on a single Enterprise plan, it suits buyers prepared to run a sales-led evaluation with procurement and security review. Annual invoicing and custom legal terms are part of the package, which larger companies often need anyway.
Budget predictability is harder. Without a published rate or seat minimum, finance teams are working from third-party estimates of $45 to $75 per seat until a quote arrives, so get the price, minimum and renewal terms in writing before a company-wide rollout.
ChatGPT Enterprise pricing and why it is a custom-quote conversation
OpenAI's pricing page lists Enterprise as "contact sales" with no per-seat figure, billed annually by invoice. That sits next to ChatGPT Business at a published $20 per user per month on annual billing or $25 month to month, with Premium Business seats at $100 to $125. Seat count, contract length and security review requirements shape the Enterprise number.
Third-party buyer reports place Enterprise at about $45 to $75 per user per month, around $60 typical, and several mention a 150-seat floor. At $60 a seat, 200 users cost roughly $12,000 a month, against $4,000 for the same headcount on Business annual. Treat both the range and the minimum as estimates until OpenAI puts a quote in writing.
| Plan | Published price | Annual |
|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | Custom quote (~$45-$75/user/mo, estimated) | Not stated |
Pricing last checked September 25, 2026. View source
How the ChatGPT Enterprise quote compares with Business seat pricing
ChatGPT Enterprise is offered as a single plan billed on a custom basis; buyer reports put it at about $45 to $75 per user per month (estimated). OpenAI sells it through sales on an annual, invoiced contract, and the quote typically reflects seat volume, the regions you need for data residency and whether you want custom legal terms or a dedicated security review.
Business is the published benchmark: $20 per seat on annual billing, $25 monthly, with a 2-seat minimum. If the Enterprise quote lands near the reported $60, you are paying roughly three times the Business rate per seat for SCIM, RBAC, compliance logging, SLAs and account management, so price those features against your actual requirements.
Contract terms and controls to confirm with OpenAI sales
Ask the account team to list, in the order form, the data residency region you are getting, whether Enterprise Key Management is included, the Compliance API retention settings and the SLA terms. Also confirm the seat minimum, since the 150-seat figure comes from third parties rather than OpenAI.
Because the Enterprise tier cannot be tried self-serve, a common route is a Business workspace for a pilot group while the Enterprise contract is negotiated. Use that pilot to test the apps your teams depend on, such as SharePoint or Google Drive, and bring the results into the security review.
ChatGPT Enterprise features: company knowledge, admin console, and compliance logging
ChatGPT Enterprise company knowledge and connected apps
Company knowledge brings content from connected apps into ChatGPT answers, with citations back to the source file or thread. Supported apps include Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, SharePoint, Outlook, Microsoft Teams, Slack, GitHub, Box and Dropbox.
Apps are available on Business too. Enterprise adds admin-managed sync, a connector registry and per-group permissions that can make an app read-only or allow a custom set of actions, and it logs every app call to the Compliance API.
ChatGPT Enterprise apps for Drive, SharePoint and Slack. Admins choose which apps are enabled for the workspace. Once connected, a user can ask ChatGPT to summarize a SharePoint policy, find a Slack decision or pull figures from a Drive spreadsheet in one conversation.
ChatGPT Enterprise permission-aware answers. ChatGPT only retrieves what the signed-in user can already access in the source app, so confidential HR folders stay restricted. Company knowledge runs on the web app and is not yet supported in the desktop or mobile apps.
ChatGPT Enterprise admin console, SSO and SCIM
The Global Admin Console at admin.openai.com manages workspaces, members, groups and roles from one place. Sign-in runs through SAML SSO with domain verification, and SCIM provisions and removes users from your directory.
Business offers SSO and a basic admin panel. SCIM, custom roles, IP allowlisting and the global console are listed by OpenAI as Enterprise features, which is why most IT teams frame the decision around them.
ChatGPT Enterprise custom roles. Admins can create roles that enable or disable agent mode, Codex, canvas, memory, web search, custom GPTs and specific app actions per group. Delegated group managers can adjust settings for their team without full admin rights.
ChatGPT Enterprise IP allowlisting and GPT oversight. IP allowlisting limits access to approved networks. Admins can also review, transfer or delete internal custom GPTs, which helps when an employee who built a widely used GPT leaves the company.
ChatGPT Enterprise analytics, compliance logs and data residency
Enterprise includes an analytics dashboard for active users, messages and seat counts, plus the Compliance API, which exposes conversation, GPT and app-activity records for export to archiving, SIEM or DLP tools.
Data can be stored in one of ten regions: the US, EU, UK, Japan, Canada, South Korea, Singapore, India, Australia and the UAE. OpenAI lists SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701 for the Enterprise tier.
ChatGPT Enterprise usage analytics. The analytics dashboard shows daily and weekly active users, message volume and seats in use, which helps with licence reallocation and adoption reporting to leadership.
ChatGPT Enterprise Compliance API and retention. Workspace owners can pull logs through the Compliance API or use listed partner integrations, and set retention periods. Deleted conversations are scheduled for removal within 30 days unless legal obligations require otherwise.
ChatGPT Enterprise pros and cons: admin controls, data residency, and quote-only pricing
Strengths
Company knowledge pulls answers from Drive, SharePoint, Slack and GitHub
ChatGPT's apps (formerly connectors) link to Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, SharePoint, Outlook, Microsoft Teams, Slack, GitHub, Box and Dropbox, so employees can ask about a policy or project without pasting documents into the chat.
Answers respect the permissions in the source system, so a user only sees content they could already open. On Enterprise, admins can also deploy sync centrally and keep a connector registry of approved apps.
For people teams, this means a handbook in SharePoint or a benefits FAQ in Drive becomes searchable through ChatGPT without building a separate knowledge base.
An analytics dashboard shows who is actually using ChatGPT
Enterprise includes an analytics dashboard with daily and weekly active users, message counts and seat usage, which Business offers only in basic form.
That data helps an enablement or HR team spot departments that bought seats and never logged in, reassign licences before renewal and measure whether training sessions changed usage.
At an estimated $60 a seat, unused licences add up fast, so seat-level reporting pays for itself on a large contract.
SCIM, custom roles and IP allowlisting go beyond the Business plan
SCIM provisioning syncs ChatGPT seats with your identity provider, so joiners get access automatically and leavers lose it when HR closes their record. Business supports SAML SSO but not SCIM.
Custom roles let admins switch features such as agent mode, Codex, memory, web search and custom GPTs on or off per group, and IP allowlisting restricts sign-in to approved corporate networks.
Together these controls let IT treat ChatGPT like any other governed SaaS app instead of a tool employees sign up for on their own.
The Compliance API gives legal and security a record of AI use
Enterprise workspaces can export conversation, GPT and app-activity logs through the Compliance API, and OpenAI lists third-party integrations for archiving, audit trails, retention and data loss prevention.
Admins also set retention periods for the workspace, and OpenAI states that business data is not used to train its models by default. Data can be stored in one of ten regions, including the US, EU, UK, Japan, Canada and India.
For employers handling candidate or employee data under GDPR or sector rules, those logs and residency options are usually the reason to choose Enterprise over Business.
ChatGPT Enterprise is cloud-delivered across web and mobile
ChatGPT Enterprise is a cloud deployment available across Web, iOS, and Android, so there is no infrastructure to host and staff use the same workspace on a laptop or phone.
SSO applies across those clients, and workspace policies set by admins follow the user. Note that company knowledge currently works on the web app only, not the mobile apps.
For frontline managers and field HR staff, mobile access means quick policy lookups or drafting without returning to a desk.
Limitations
No published Enterprise price, only buyer estimates
OpenAI's pricing page shows "contact sales" for Enterprise. The $45 to $75 per-seat range quoted in reviews, including this one, comes from buyer reports rather than OpenAI.
That makes early budgeting a guess. Business at $20 per seat annual gives a floor, but a finance team cannot confirm the Enterprise premium without going through sales and a quote.
If your budget cycle closes before a quote can arrive, model the cost at the top of the reported range to avoid a shortfall.
A reported 150-seat minimum shuts out smaller companies
Several third-party sources report a minimum of around 150 seats for Enterprise. OpenAI does not publish a minimum, so confirm it with sales, but plan for a sizeable commitment.
At an estimated $60 per seat, 150 seats is about $9,000 a month on an annual contract before anyone has proven the use case across the company.
Organizations under that size, or those piloting with one department, get most of the day-to-day features on ChatGPT Business with its 2-seat minimum.
No self-serve trial of the Enterprise tier
Enterprise is bought through OpenAI sales, and there is no self-serve way to switch on SCIM, the Compliance API or data residency and test them ahead of a contract.
Most day-to-day features, including custom GPTs, projects and the connected apps, can be piloted on a Business workspace. The admin and compliance layer is the part you evaluate on paper and in the security review.
Ask for a technical walkthrough of the admin console and Compliance API output with your security team present, since those are the features you are paying extra for.
OpenAI excludes ChatGPT Enterprise workspaces from model training by default and bundles SAML SSO, SCIM directory sync and a global admin console for managing roles and models. Pricing is a custom quote with no free trial, so HR and IT teams have to go through sales before they know the per-seat cost.
What to ask OpenAI sales in a ChatGPT Enterprise demo and security review
OpenAI sells Enterprise through a sales team, a security review and an annual contract. These four questions cover price, controls, a pilot and data handling, and they are the ones I would raise in the first call.
- Get the per-seat price, seat minimum and renewal terms on the order form. Third-party reports of $45 to $75 per seat and a 150-seat minimum are estimates. Ask OpenAI for the exact figures for your headcount, compare them with Business at $20 per seat annual, and check whether the renewal price is capped.
- List which Enterprise-only controls are in the contract. Ask sales to confirm SCIM, custom roles, IP allowlisting, the Compliance API, Enterprise Key Management and your data residency region in writing. Some features, such as key management, have been described as rolling out, so check the status for your workspace.
- Run a pilot on Business while the contract is negotiated. There is no self-serve Enterprise trial, but a Business workspace lets a pilot group test custom GPTs, projects and apps such as SharePoint or Google Drive. Bring usage data from that pilot to the Enterprise conversation.
- Walk through data handling with your security and legal teams. Confirm retention settings, which Compliance API partners you will use, the certifications in scope and the DPA terms. For employee and candidate data, check that the residency region matches your GDPR or local obligations.
How we evaluated ChatGPT Enterprise
Rajat worked through ChatGPT Enterprise directly. Every figure below was checked against ChatGPT Enterprise's published pricing on September 25, 2026. Follow the link and check it yourself — if the vendor has moved since, that date tells you how stale this page is.
Plans as published
| Plan | List price |
|---|---|
| Business (Standard seat) | $20/user/mo billed annually, or $25/user/mo billed monthly |
| Business (Premium seat) | $100/user/mo billed annually, or $125/user/mo billed monthly |
| Enterprise | About $45-$75/user/mo, ~$60 typical (estimated; custom quote) |
Trial: No Enterprise free trial listed; free ChatGPT plan and self-serve Business plan available
What the list price doesn't cover
Enterprise estimates are not OpenAI prices
The $45 to $75 per user per month range for Enterprise comes from buyer reports, not from OpenAI. Your quote can land above or below it depending on seat count, contract length and negotiation. The reported 150-seat minimum and annual prepayment also mean the smallest Enterprise contract is estimated near $108,000 a year. Get the seat minimum, rate and payment terms in writing early.
Usage limits, credits and API use are billed separately
Seat prices cover ChatGPT use within each plan's limits. Usage beyond those limits can require extra credits, and API use by your developers is billed separately at API rates. On Business, heavy users may need Premium seats at five times the Standard price. Ask OpenAI how overage is billed and what reports you get, so usage costs do not surprise you after rollout.
What we'd confirm on a demo
Request a written ChatGPT Enterprise quote scoped to your deployment
Enterprise has no published price, so get a written quote for your seat count and contract length. Use the third-party estimate of $45 to $75 per user per month only for early budgeting. Confirm the seat minimum, payment terms and whether the rate is fixed for the full contract.
Confirm exactly which capabilities are included at your price
Ask OpenAI to list which Enterprise features are in your contract: SCIM, enterprise key management, data residency, expanded context, analytics and support level. Compare these against ChatGPT Business at $20 per user per month to confirm the Enterprise premium buys features you will use.
Test on Business or a pilot before committing to Enterprise
OpenAI does not list an Enterprise free trial. Test ChatGPT with a small group on the free plan or on Business first, then ask OpenAI about a scoped Enterprise pilot. Use real tasks from your teams to check output quality and admin needs before signing an annual contract.
Frequently asked questions about ChatGPT Enterprise
How much does ChatGPT Enterprise cost?
OpenAI does not publish an Enterprise price; the plan is sold through sales on an annual, invoiced contract. Buyer reports put Enterprise at about $45 to $75 per user per month (estimated), often with a 150-seat minimum, so ask for a written quote for your seat count. For comparison, OpenAI publishes ChatGPT Business, its self-serve team plan, at $20 per user per month billed annually or $25 billed monthly.
Does ChatGPT Enterprise offer a free trial?
No. There is no self-serve trial of the Enterprise tier; access starts with OpenAI sales and a quote. Many companies pilot on ChatGPT Business, which shares the core assistant, custom GPTs and connected apps, and then move to Enterprise for SCIM, compliance logging and data residency.
What features does ChatGPT Enterprise include?
Enterprise includes everything in ChatGPT Business, such as custom GPTs, projects, deep research and apps for Google Drive, SharePoint, Slack and GitHub, plus SCIM, custom roles, IP allowlisting, an analytics dashboard, the Compliance API, data residency in ten regions, a longer chat context window, 24/7 priority support and SLAs.
Who is ChatGPT Enterprise best for?
It suits organizations with a few hundred employees or more whose security or legal teams require directory provisioning, audit logs or in-region data storage for AI tools. Smaller teams that mainly want private, non-training chats with SSO usually find ChatGPT Business at $20 per seat enough.
What platforms does ChatGPT Enterprise support?
ChatGPT Enterprise is a cloud deployment available on Web, iOS, and Android. Admin policies and SSO apply across clients, though company knowledge from connected apps currently works in the web app only.
What are the main pros and cons of ChatGPT Enterprise?
Strengths: SCIM and custom roles, Compliance API logging, data residency in ten regions, an analytics dashboard and permission-aware answers from apps like SharePoint and Google Drive. Drawbacks: no published price (estimates run $45 to $75 per seat), a reported 150-seat minimum, and no self-serve trial of the Enterprise tier.
Alternatives worth comparing
Enterprise is the right upgrade only when its admin and compliance features are requirements. For teams that need less control, a smaller commitment or a published price, these options compare differently.
| Product | Pricing model | Free trial | Why buyers shortlist it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Notion AI | Per-user pricing | Yes | Notion AI is the AI layer inside Notion's Business and Enterprise plans, with meeting notes, enterprise search and custom agents. |
| Infor GenAI | Custom quote | Not stated | Infor GenAI is the generative AI layer in Infor CloudSuite, running on Amazon Bedrock models. |
| Claude | Per-user pricing | Not stated | Claude is Anthropic's enterprise generative AI platform, expected to help mid-market and enterprise teams adopt generative AI with stronger workflow support, governance, and operational control. |
| Microsoft 365 Copilot | Per-user pricing | Not stated | Microsoft 365 Copilot is Microsoft's enterprise generative AI layer, built to help large teams put generative AI to work with stronger workflow support, governance, and operational control. |
| Google Gemini | Per-user pricing | Yes | Google Gemini is positioned as an enterprise generative AI platform that helps mid-market and enterprise teams put generative AI to work with stronger workflow support, governance, and operational control. |
Head-to-head comparisons
- Claude vs ChatGPT Enterprise
The two price their enterprise plans differently. Claude Enterprise publishes a $20 per seat per month fee billed annually, plus usage billed at Anthropic's API rates. ChatGPT Enterprise is quote-only, with buyer reports putting it at an estimated $45 to $75 per user per month on an annual contract. Both sell a self-serve team tier below the enterprise plan at the same price: Claude Team and ChatGPT Business cost $20 per standard seat billed annually or $25 monthly, with premium seats at $100 to $125. Smaller teams should check those plans before assuming an enterprise contract is needed. This page focuses on the product and workflow differences that matter more than either company's list price.
Free templates for this
- Free policy
PTO Policy Template
A paid time off (PTO) policy template covering accrual, requests, approvals, carryover, and payout so your time-off rules are clear, fair, and consistent.
- Free policy
Remote Work Policy Template
A remote work policy template covering eligibility, hours, equipment, security, and expectations so distributed and hybrid teams operate consistently and securely.
- Free policy
Code of Conduct Template
A code of conduct template defining expected behavior, ethics, conflicts of interest, and reporting so everyone understands the standards your workplace holds.